Search Tours

Monte Fano

The Benedictine monastery of Monte Fano was established in Kandy in 1927, with a history that began with the arrival in Sri Lanka of Sylvestrine missionary monks in 1845 as under the auspices of Propaganda Fidei. The first of these monks was Fr Giuseppe Maria Bravi, who became European Vicar Apostolic in the southern vicariate of Colombo, which was divided in 1883 to create the diocese of Kandy. After further administrative changes, in 1972, Monte Fano became the main monastery of the Sylvestro Benedictine Priory in Sri Lanka, which now has five monastic communities.
Monte Fano
Start planning your trip
Inquire Online
Talk to our expert team